Diabetes and the eye

Diabetes mellitus is one of the pandemics of the 21st century. Today, about 463 million adults worldwide suffer from diabetes, in Germany about 10 percent of adults. Diabetes is the most common metabolic disease in children and adolescents. The frequency trend is increasing for all age groups.

A serious complication of diabetes is diabetic retinopathy (diabetic eye disease). It usually affects both eyes. Common symptoms of this are: Blurred vision, fluctuations in vision or eyeglass readings, decrease in color vision, "haze" in the visual field, visual field loss up to blindness.

The cause of diabetic retinopathy lies in a permanent Elevated blood glucose levelwhich results in vascular impairment, causing a chronic disturbance of blood flow to the retina. In the early stages, small haemorrhages and vascular bulges (microaneurisms) develop. As the disease progresses, the number of haemorrhages increases and swelling of the site of sharpest vision may develop (macular oedema), leading to a significant reduction in vision and requiring prompt ophthalmological treatment. If diabetic retinopathy continues to progress uncontrollably, bleeding inside the eye is possible (vitreous haemorrhage), as well as retinal detachment or eye pressure increase with chronic optic nerve damage (glaucoma) that can lead to blindness.

Risk factors for developing diabetic retinopathy include: Duration of disease (the longer you have diabetes, the higher the risk), inadequate blood sugar control, high blood pressure, high cholesterol (hypercholesterolemia), pregnancy, smoking, and hereditary factors.

A health-conscious lifestyle plays a decisive role in the prevention of diabetes. This includes, for example, a Mediterranean diet, avoiding obesity, lack of exercise and smoking, adequate sleepconscious handling of stress. To prevent the progression of diagnosed diabetes, regular blood glucose, blood pressure and blood lipid checks, as well as annual ophthalmological checks, are also necessary. In order to prevent a permanent reduction in vision in the case of a diagnosed diabetic retinopathy, close retinal checks by an ophthalmologist also play an important role (e.g. every 3-6 months). In the presence of diabetic complications, timely retinal examinations should be performed. Ophthalmological therapy (e.g. retinal laser treatment, introduction of medication into the vitreous cavity, pressure-reducing therapy, retinal surgery, etc.).

The active role of the patient as well as good cooperation between internists and ophthalmologists is crucial in preventing the development of diabetes.

 

 

Locations & Contact

Our locations in Hamburg

Our location in Schleswig-Holstein

x
Phone
Radiology Stephansplatz Othmarschen Nienstedten Eidelstedt Niendorf Neuer Wall Bergedorf
Online appointment recipe

Diabetes und das Auge

Die Zuckerkrankheit (Diabetes mellitus) ist eine der Pandemien des 21. Jahrunderts. Weltweit leiden heutzutage ca. 463 Millionen Erwachsene an Diabetes, in Deutschland etwa 10 Prozent der Erwachsenen. Die Zuckerkrankheit ist die häufigste Stoffwechselerkrankung bei Kindern und Jugendlichen. Die Häufigkeitstendenz ist steigend für alle Altersgruppen.

Eine ernsthafte Komplikation von Diabetes ist die diabetische Retinopathie (diabetische Augenerkrankung). Sie betrifft in der Regel beide Augen. Häufige Symptome dabei sind: Verschwommensehen, Schwankungen des Sehens oder der Brillenwerte, Abnahme des Farbensehens, „Schleier“ im Gesichtsfeld, Gesichtsfeldausfälle bis zur Erblindung.

Die Ursache der diabetischen Retinopathie liegt in einem dauerhaft erhöhten Blutzuckerspiegel, der in einer Gefäßbeeinträchtigung resultiert und dadurch eine chronische Durchblutungsstörung der Netzhaut hervorruft. Im Frühstadium entstehen kleine Blutungen und Gefäßausbuchtungen (Mikroaneurismen). Im Verlauf nimmt die Zahl der Blutungen zu und es kann eine Schwellung der Stelle des schärfsten Sehens entstehen (Makulaödem), die zu einer erheblichen Sehminderung führt und eine zeitnahe augenärztliche Behandlung erfordert. Wenn die diabetische Retinopathie weiterhin unkontrolliert fortschreitet sind Blutungen im Augeninneren möglich (Glaskörper-Blutung), sowie Netzhautablösungen oder Augendruckanstieg mit einem chronischen Sehnervenschaden (Glaukom), der zur Erblindung führen kann.

Zu den Risikofaktoren für die Entwicklung einer diabetischen Retinopathie gehören: Erkrankungsdauer (je länger man Diabetes hat, desto höher das Risiko), nicht ausreichende Blutzucker-Einstellung, Bluthochdruck, hohes Cholesterol (Hypercholesterinämie), Schwangerschaft, Rauchen und erbliche Faktoren.

In der Vorbeugung der Zuckerkrankheit spielt ein gesundheitsbewusster Lebensstil eine entscheidende Rolle. Dazu gehören z.B. mediterrane Ernährungsweise, Vermeidung von Übergewicht, Bewegungsmangel und Rauchen, ausreichender Schlaf, bewusster Umgang mit Stress. Zur Prävention der Progression einer diagnostizierten Zuckerkrankheit gehören zusätzlich regelmäßige Blutzucker-, Blutdruck- und Blutfett- Kontrollen, sowie jährliche augenärztliche Kontrollen. Zur Verhinderung einer dauerhaften Sehminderung bei einer diagnostizierten diabetischen Retinopathie spielen zusätzlich die engmaschigen augenärztlichen Netzhautkontrollen eine wichtige Rolle (z.B. alle 3-6 Monaten). Beim Vorliegen von entsprechenden diabetischen Komplikationen sollte eine zeitgerechte augenärztliche Therapie erfolgen (z.B. Netzhautlaser-Behandlung, Einbringung von Medikamenten in den Glaskörperraum, drucksenkende Therapie, Netzhaut-Operationen usw.).

Die aktive Rolle des Patienten sowie die gute Zusammenarbeit zwischen Internisten und Augenärzten ist entscheidend für die Vorbeugung der Zuckerkrankheitsentwicklung.

 

 

Standorte & Kontakt

x
Telefon
Stephansplatz Othmarschen Nienstedten Eidelstedt Niendorf
Online Termin Rezept